fbpx

IN THE CUTS

by Azadeh Hamzeii

Presented by Metro Arts and 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art

Azadeh Hamzeii presents new work commissioned by Metro Art in association with 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art.

With a focus on the dialogues between the individual and the universal, Azadeh Hamzeii mines her personal history and cultural background as an Iranian based in Meanjin (Brisbane).

Hamzeii draws from a range of subjects and materials including votive offerings, beeswax, fishing hooks, her father’s old film negatives, and Keffiyeh, to investigate the localised significance of objects and the potential to elevate their meaning, creating a broader human narrative.

View the catalogue here

Please note: In line with Queensland Health regulations, all patrons and visitors at Metro Arts will be required to be fully vaccinated until 14 April 2022. Proof must be presented on entry to venue staff. Find out more here.

DATES

Thu 2 Dec – Sat 18 Dec, 2021

Opening Event
Thu 2 Dec, 6pm – 8pm

VENUE

Gallery One 
Metro Arts, West End

CURRENT GALLERY HOURS

The following hours are for Gallery One and Gallery Two.
The Window Gallery is open 24/7 for the duration of the exhibition. 
 
Sat 7 May  4pm-7pm
Sunday and Monday  CLOSED
Tue 10 May  8:30am – 5pm
Wed 11 May  8:30am – 5pm
Thu 12 May  8:30am – 5pm
Fri 13 May  8:30am – 5pm
Sat 14 May  9am – 5pm 
Sunday and Monday  CLOSED
Tue 17 May  8:30am – 5pm
Wed 18  8:30am – 9pm  
Thu 19 May  8:30am – 9pm 
Fri 20 May  8:30am – 9pm 
Sat 21 May 9am – 9pm
Sunday and Monday  CLOSED
Tue 24 May  8:30am – 5pm 
Wed 25 May  8:30am – 9pm 
Thu 26 May  8:30am – 9pm  
Fri 27 May  8:30am – 9pm 

 

VISITING US

We take the safety of our patrons, staff and artists seriously. Metro Arts is operating in line with current Queensland Government guidelines. If you are unwell, please refrain from attending events at Metro Arts. Maintaining physical distancing requirements is expected and is the individual’s responsibility. Click here for more information. 

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

In the Cuts is presented in 2021 at Metro Arts, in collaboration with 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art. Presented at Metro Arts in the Gallery Two at West Village by 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art and Metro Arts. Supported by City of Sydney and Create NSW Azadeh Hamzeii: A Tool is a Tool was commissioned by 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art in collaboration with Metro Arts in 2020 for 4A Digital.