fbpx

SUBTITLE IRAN

Presented by Metro Arts

By Katayoun Javan

Iranian Australian photographer and video artist Katayoun Javan draws on personal and public stories to present notions of family, home, memory, displacement and the Iranian Diaspora.

Subtitle Iran is a research-based photo series that explores the ways Western film and television has perceived Iran for the past several decades, mainly before and after the Iranian Revolution of 1979.

 

DATES

Sat 5 – Sat 26 Jun, 2021

OPENING EVENT
4 – 6pm, Sat 5 Jun

VENUE

Gallery Two
Metro Arts, West End

GALLERY HOURS

Sat 5 Jun 4pm – 10pm (exhibition opening)
Sun 6 Jun Closed
Mon 7 – Fri 11 Jun 7am – 5pm
Sat 12 Jun 10am – 5pm
Sun 13 Jun Closed
Mon 14 – Fri 18 Jun 7am – 5pm
Sat 19 Jun 10am – 5pm
Sun 20 Jun Closed
Mon 21 – Fri 25 Jun 7am – 5pm
Sat 26 Jun 10am – 5pm
Sun 27 Jun Closed

THE ARTISTS

Katayoun Javan

Katayoun Javan is an Iranian Australian photographer and video artist. Through documentary photography, portraiture, and use of found photos and videos, she draws on personal and public stories in order to explore notions of family, home, memory, displacement, and the Iranian Diaspora. Most of her works are somehow related to Iran from a migrant point of view.  She completed a Master of Fine Art in research in 2013 and has taken residencies in Australia and exhibited in solo and group shows in Australia, Iran and internationally.

VISITING US

We take the safety of our patrons, staff and artists seriously. Metro Arts is operating in line with current Queensland Government guidelines and the Stage QLD COVIDSafe Industry Plan. If you are unwell, please refrain from attending events at Metro Arts. Maintaining physical distancing requirements is expected and is the individuals responsibility. Click here for more information.